Why hello, long time no see

Hello again, how are you all doing? I apologize for the long abandonment from this blog. Long story short, I got a bit swamped and lazy.. then it just kind of spiralled from there. Plus I started using Instagram in the fall which added to the “lazy” factor of not blog posting. Once I got my new phone, it was so much easier to just post pictures straight from the phone.

But, with that being said, I was actually still using this blog ‘privately’ to keep track of recipes / food that I was making. Since I’m in practicum right now and have a bit more free time, I thought it would be fitting to post some of the recipes that I’ve made since the summer. Most of the pictures that I will be using are already on Instagram. If you want to see only pictures, check out my Instagram at: ja_wong.

For those who are interested, I thought I’d give a brief run down on what has happened since the summer. At the end of August, I visited Toronto and NYC for the first time. Travelling companions included my brothers, C, and my cousin. For the most part, it was a really fun trip – would love to go back to NYC someday. It was amazing but I could never live there, too fast-paced for me. From Sept to Dec, I was back in full-time classes at BCIT.. In other words, not too much happened during this time. In terms of non school stuff, I continued to bake, learnt basic knitting, and got a little into card making.

I also finally graduated from UBC in November with a B. Sc. It was a long time coming, but I can finally say that it was worth the struggle. Its one of the few things in my life so far, that I’m surprisingly proud of =]

Not much happened in December, just the usual busy family-oriented winter break. Then once January rolled around, I started my 3 months of practicum, which I’m still doing now. I’m sure I left out a bunch of stuff but that was basically the gist of what has happened since the summer.

And now, onto the food talk. This was a recent project that I just completed today. After this post, I plan to post some older pictures/ recipes that I’ve made since the summer.

Anyways… last week, C asked me to make some decorated sugar cookies for his work potluck. They couldn’t be too generic or too complicated though… we finally agreed on a police cruiser.

2013-03-10 15.43.36

I initially had my doubts because they sounded kind of complicated, but after googling for ideas, this is what I came up with.
2013-03-10 15.48.57

Really happy with how they turned out, plus they’re super cute. I could totally see these cars at a kid’s birthday party or something.

2013-03-10 15.41.06

He’s bringing them into work on Wednesday.. I hope they like them =]

2013-03-10 16.59.35

Some extras – Hearts and Teapots

2013-03-10 14.08.44

Wasn’t a fan of the teapot cutter… just didn’t find them very cute. Maybe it was the icing design.. who knows.

2013-03-10 14.12.47

Thank you so much to both old and new readers for continuing to read this blog. Talk to you all soon.

8 Comments Add yours

  1. The police cars look awesome but a bit time consuming. Why police cars though?

    Like

    1. Janine says:

      Thanks, yah they took a really long time. Couldn’t come up with anything else RCMP-related so cruisers seemed appropriate.

      Like

  2. Amy says:

    Cuz that’s where C works – RCMP.
    Very cute cookies, J9!! So surprised to see a posting finally. LOL.

    Like

    1. Janine says:

      Thx Amy. Can’t believe you still checked it lol

      Like

  3. Grace says:

    yessssssssssss so glad you’re reviving the blog! and once again, amazing cookies! looking forward to your other posts! i still like the teapots btw. but maybe if you’re looking for cuteness, add eyes next time? though maybe i’m thinking too much of Mrs. Potts & Chip from Beauty and the Beast lol

    Like

    1. Janine says:

      Thanks =] Hmm… yeh, don’t know about eyes… could work I guess lol

      Like

Leave a comment