Hot Diggity Dog!

Would you like fries with that hot dog?

IMG_4262 copy

Or maybe a glass of milk to wash down that funfetti hot dog cake?

IMG_4295 copy

Does this cake not scream savoury? hah, I love how for a split second that the sight of this giant hotdog tricks your brain into thinking it’s a savoury treat, when in fact, it is a sweet sweet rainbow cake enrobed in rich buttery icing =)

I don’t do big cake projects often… or at all to be honest… I don’t even remember the last time I baked a real cake, other than a cheesecake… must be a few years now… but after baking my first test run cake with this Funfetti cake recipe from Sally’s Baking Addiction, I was reminded how much I missed cake by both the sweet smell that wafted throughout the house and then the soft, tender, and colorful interior that tasted like pure deliciousness. I seriously ate all the extra browned bits for breakfast one Sunday morning… and it was the best breakfast decision I had made in a long time.

IMG_4278 copy

I can go on and on about how delicious the browned parts of the cake were, but I won’t… instead, I will tell you about how I ran and immediately fed E cake for breakfast after I tasted it myself =D Okay, but seriously… lets talk about this cake and these fries.

These fries look kind of real… amiright?

This whole hotdog venture started after E’s brother, A, had asked me to make a funfetti birthday cake for L…  she is a lover of all things hotdog… like full on hot diggity dog lover! Originally A had just asked for a funfetti cake with some hot dogs, then I came up with this crazy idea of making the cake into a hotdog… cause I honestly just wanted to see her lose her sh*t when she saw it lol … sorry L, truth comes out =D

IMG_4242 (1) copy

Google provided a ton of inspiration to make this vision possible and it actually wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be. All you need to do is….

  1. Bake a cake at least 2-3 inches high (I baked mine in a loaf pan). Once fully cooled, chill the cake at least an hour to make carving easier. Using a serrated knife, carefully carve the cake into a rounded cylinder shape and set aside… this will be the weiner… don’t get any silly ideas here ;)
  2. Bake your favourite cake recipe in a loaf pan, filled to about 2/3 to 3/4 full, depending on how big your want your bun to be. Chill this in the fridge for at least an hour to firm up before carving
  3. Hollow out the center into what resembles a cake valley, large enough to fit your previously shaped cylinder cake and round out the sides
  4. Make your favourite buttercream icing recipe and separate it into 5 different bowls. Tint each to make the bun (small amount of brown), weiner (brown > red), mustard (yellow + golden yellow), ketchup (brown < red), and sesame (leave white) colours.
  5. Cut up green jube jube candies for the relish
  6. Crumb coat the two cakes separately with your favourite buttercream, then carefully finish icing and assemble on a sheet of aluminum foil. Add on the relish, ketchup, mustard, and sesame seeds.
  7. Fries: bake a sheet cake about 1 inch high. Once cooled, cut into thick-cut fries. To create that browned look, place on a baking sheet and carefully broil in the oven until golden. Repeat on all sides. Don’t forget to sample these with the extra icing… quality control here…

IMG_4299 copy

And voila!… assemble the hotdog, fries, and sides on an aluminum cake board and you’re ready to surprise any hotdog lover! I don’t have the cups in these pictures, but I also added those small white ketchup ‘cups’ which I filled with extra yellow and red icing to resemble ketchup and mustard dipping sauces.

6 thoughts on “Hot Diggity Dog!

  1. This was seriously the BEST cake ever and everyone asked me if the fries were really fries!!! And I really did lose my sh*t when it came out LOL!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

