Hot Chocolate Spoons

It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas….

IMG_0521 copy

Cold, wet, and dreary weather call for warm and chocolaty beverages… it should be a mandatory thing, don’t you agree?

You can never go wrong with hot chocolate on a cold winters day… rich and velvety smooth chocolate mixed with warm milk… MMmmm. Yumm, one of my favorites.

I was searching around Mr Google, looking for neat Christmas treat ideas and hot chocolate popped up. Hello… hot chocolate on a spoon?! Best. Idea. Ever. I don’t know about you, but I’d be pretty excited if I received this as a Christmas treat!

Its pretty simple to make and you can even make it in advance! You can find the recipe I used here. I used a regular ice cube tray and managed to make about 13 hot chocolate pops. I loveee the finished look, especially sprinkled with little bits of crushed candy cane – the red and white pops of color on top make it look so festive!

Chocolate… use good quality, not chocolate chips! I went down to the states and bought a few massive bars from Trader Joe’s (best thing ever). And as for the spoons (you can also use sticks), I personally love the look of wooden spoons, so I ended up ordering them online from GreenMunch.

Hot Chocolate Spoons

  • Servings: 10
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

  • 16 oz good quality chocolate (I used 10 oz dark chocolate and 6 oz milk chocolate – play around and see what combination you like)
  • 1/3 cup cocoa (loosely packed)
  • 3/4 cup + 2 tablespoons powdered sugar (loosely packed)
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • Optional toppings: crushed candy canes, marshmallows, candy
  1. Chop up the chocolate into small pieces and melt over a double boiler (Try not to get any water into the chocolate or it’ll seize up)
  2. Once the chocolate is completely melted, stir in the cocoa, powdered sugar, and salt. It’ll initially look clumpy, but continue stirring until there are no lumps left and the mixture looks glossy and smooth
  3. Take everything off the heat and transfer chocolate mixture into a piping bag or ziploc bag.
  4. Pipe chocolate mixture into a clean ice cube tray. Add toppings if you’d like, and then top with spoons. Pop in the refrigerator for about 15 minutes and check / adjust the spoons to ensure they are straight. Refrigerate for another 45 minutes or until completely set.
  5. Package the spoons up in clear cello bags and enjoy with 1 Cup of hot milk

Alternatively, if you didn’t want to make the hot chocolate on a spoon, there are a bunch of different ‘hot chocolate kits’ which you could make and give away as well. Less than a week before Christmas….!

Head on over to the 99th Fiesta Friday to see the complete lineup of pre-holiday recipes! 

22 Comments Add yours

  1. We just went to a local chocolate shop this afternoon… these were available for purchase & my husband thought they were a great idea! I would much rather make them myself- lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Janine says:

      Yes! I’d definitely rather make my own as well, plus they’re much more customizable to your taste!

      Like

  2. skd says:

    Very delectable..yumm..

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I always admire with pleasure your baking skills, Janine. It looks so delicious. Thanks for sharing this at Fiesta Friday and Happy Holidays! :)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Janine says:

      Thank you so much 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Angie says:

    Love these, Janine! l should make a bunch for the post-holiday party my girlfriends and I always have every year. How lucky are THEY?! :D

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Janine says:

      Lovely, they are lucky girls. They make great favours…. Who doesn’t enjoy hot chocolate !

      Liked by 1 person

  5. This sounds so good, and I really love the built in spoon :)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Janine says:

      Thanks! Yes, I love the spoon too… functional and stylish !

      Like

  6. Love these Janine! I made similar ones after my son returned from Belgium where this is how most hot chocolate was served. Did you have any problems with the white mottling with the fat blooming out of the chocolate? Now long do you recommend storing them? Here is my version. http://frenchgardenerdishes.com/2014/01/09/baby-its-cold-outside-get-cozy-with-belgium-hot-chocolate-on-a-stick/. I loved the crushed candy canes on yours. Happy FF 100! Happy New Year!🎉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Janine says:

      Lovely chocolate sticks, Johanne! And thank you =) Yes, I had that issue as well with the mottling. I had wrapped mine up in individual bags just after they had set, but they started to mottle after a couple of days sitting out at room temperature. Hadn’t expected that to happen after I had made them and I’m not sure how to prevent this from happening. I had only made one batch, and didn’t experiment again because I had made enough spoons the first time around, but if I experiment and figure out how to prevent this process, I will let you know.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you Janine. I will too. They were still good to eat just not as pretty.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Janine says:

        Agreed… Still delicious 😊

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Patty Nguyen says:

    What cute little spoons! Such a great idea. Cheers to 2016!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I love that you have done with the little spoons and chocolate:)

    Please check https://asparklingjourney.wordpress.com/

    Like

    1. Janine says:

      Thank you 😊

      Like

  9. Nicole says:

    Any other ideas to prevent the blooming or mottling from occurring? I made these and they looked terrible within the day :( What can you mix with the chocolate that will prevent this and still taste great?

    Like

    1. Janine says:

      Hi, to be honest I never tried making them by adding anything into them. When I made them last time they lasted a couple of days before blooming so I was able to gift them before they bloomed. I wonder if it depends on the type of chocolate? I’ve tried with the trader Joes bars before. Sorry, I wish I could give you more of an explanation

      Like

Leave a comment