Cinnamon Braid Bread

Layers of soft and tender bread stuffed with cinnamon and sugar.

IMG_3780 copy

Crispy on the outside and fluffy on the inside.

IMG_3779 copy

You need this in your life, trust me.

I saw a picture of this bread sometime ago, over one of my many pinterest-surfing sessions. Had it bookmarked and recently decided to search up ‘cinnamon braid bread’ on the amazing Google machine. It came up with this recipe along with beautiful pictures of the bread itself. Seriously, doesn’t the bread look picture perfect on this site? I didn’t even intend on making it, but it just looked so good on the site that I had to try … and boy was it good! Took a couple hours from start to finish but was completely worth it. I was actually surprised that it was slightly quicker than some other breads because this recipe didn’t require a second rising session. I also tweaked the recipe a little – made it half whole wheat….  just so that I could feel like it was kind of healthy to chow down on a giant beautiful cinnamon-roll looking thing.

IMG_3763 copy

Bread

  • 1 C AP flour (add more flour if too sticky)
  • 1 C WW flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3/4 C lukewarm milk
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 2 1/2 tsp active dry yeast
  • 2 tbsp butter, melted
  • 1 egg yolk

Filling

  • 1/4 cup butter, softened
  • 4 tbsp sugar
  • 3 tsp cinnamon
Directions
  1. In a liquid measure, microwave the milk for about 30-45 secs until it is lukewarm. Add in the sugar and yeast and allow it to sit for about 10 minutes.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together flours and salt.
  3. Add the egg yolk and melted butter into the milk mixture and stir. Pour the milk mixture over the dry ingredients.
  4. Knead dough until it pulls away from the edges of the bowl, approx 8 mins. Shape the dough into a ball.
  5. Lightly oil a clean bowl and evenly coat the dough with oil then cover with plastic wrap. Place the bowl in a warm place and let it rest for about 1 hour at room temperature until doubled in size (I usually pop the bowl in the microwave)
  6. Filling: cream together the softened butter, cinnamon, and sugar. Set aside.
  7. Preheat the oven to 400 F and line a baking sheet.
  8. On a floured surface, roll the dough into a rectangle (~ 18×12 inches)
  9. Spread the cinnamon filling evenly over top and reserve about 1 tbsp of filling for the end. Leave a 1/2-inch border around the edges.
  10. Roll the dough into a log and using a sharp knife, cut the log in half length-wise leaving one edge uncut for about 1/2 inch.
  11. Twist the two pieces, with the open layers facing outwards then pinch the ends together and form a wreath.
  12. Transfer it to the prepared baking sheet and brush/ spread the remaining cinnamon filling over top.
  13. Bake for 10 mins at 400F, then reduce the heat to 350 F for the last 12 mins or until golden brown
  14. Let it cool for about 10-15 mins and dig in!

IMG_3752 copy

Cut and twist.

IMG_3757 copy

 Hmm, maybe even add a drizzle of icing over-top with some sliced almonds or pecans? Yum yum sugar overload.

IMG_3787 copy

I’m not sure what else to tell you about this bread, other than how amazingly soft, cinnamony and yummy it was… especially hot out of the oven… mmmm. The perfect treat for a brunch or afternoon coffee… or any other time of the day! Be sure to share and enjoy warm accompanied by your favorite beverage =)

PS  – If you haven’t heard, Angie from The Novice Gardener is hosting weekly ‘Fiesta Friday’ blog parties and I just added this dish to the party! Check out her page (here) for more info on joining the party. It’s also a great resource for viewing other amazing food creations and connecting with other bloggers!

53 Comments Add yours

  1. Deb says:

    Your Cinnamon Braid Bread is enchanting! I have also seen this lovely loaf out and about on the internet. It is quite alluring and makes me want to get in the kitchen and start baking!

    Like

    1. Janine says:

      Thank you so much. Haha, that’s how I felt when I saw the beautiful images on the original site I posted!

      Like

  2. Looks so good! I love cinnamon roll. This shape is really cute, I’d love to try this technique next time. :)

    Like

    1. Janine says:

      Thanks! Yes, I love how its such an easy technique as well but the end result looks like you tried wayyy harder!

      Like

  3. Oh my goodness.. when I first saw this cinnamon braid bread, I thought “how pretty” and I also thought “way above my level of baking skills”…. but you’ve made me feel as though I can actually do something like this!! I’m so tempted to try.. It looks so lovely…so delicious… :-) I just think I might!

    Like

    1. Janine says:

      Awe, so glad to hear – that completely makes my day. Hope you do give it a try because though it looks impressive, the technique is super simple! (I’m sure any food-tester critics would be super impressed!) Thanks for stopping by =)

      Like

  4. Wonderful recipe and great presentation :)

    Like

    1. Janine says:

      Thank you so much and thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  5. polianthus says:

    very pretty braiding technique!

    Like

  6. saucygander says:

    This looks so good, I wish I had some ready for breakfast tomorrow. The cut and twist method produces such pretty patterns!

    Like

    1. Janine says:

      Thank you! Yes, I think this is my new favorite method for bread – love how it is so deceiving how easy it actually is!

      Like

  7. Wow, Janine, that looks beautiful! I want to make this soon. It’s similar to the Krantz cake I made a while ago, but yours is prettier formed into a wreath.

    Like

    1. Janine says:

      Thanks! Haha, its all in the deceivingly easy cut and twist technique. Don’t think I’ve seen your Krantz cake, I’ll have to have a look after!

      Like

  8. MB says:

    Oh my… yes, it looks absolutely perfect. I don’t bake bread often, but will definitely pin this and try it. So nice to have discovered your blog… Thanks Fiesta Friday!

    Like

    1. Janine says:

      Thank you so much, and thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  9. Janine your bread looks amazing, almost a shame to eat it, but I’m sure it was delicious!

    Like

    1. Janine says:

      Thanks! Haha, yes, felt a bit guilty pulling the bread apart (but once you start, you really can’t stop!)

      Like

  10. Alex says:

    What a beautiful bread! I definitely want to try this

    Like

    1. Janine says:

      Thanks! Yes, I really hope you do!

      Like

  11. Patty Nguyen says:

    Janine, you make the prettiest bread I’ve ever seen. They are works of art!

    Like

  12. such a beautiful bread! :) love the minimal ingredients too.

    Like

  13. Love this and I believe you’re quite right – I do need it in my life!

    Like

    1. Janine says:

      Thanks! Haha hard to resist eh ?

      Like

  14. thebrookcook says:

    WOW! This is the most beautiful bread I have ever seen!!

    Like

    1. Janine says:

      Thanks and thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  15. I could never make this but I would definately eat it for my afternoon tea with my cuppa, mmm yum

    Like

    1. Janine says:

      Thank you! Awe, I hope you give it a try, its deceivingly easier than it looks

      Like

  16. What a beautiful bread Janine. I imagine how fun it would be to serve this for brunch with a house full of guests. Impressive! You have spiked my confidence level with this post. I would never in my wildest dreams think I could make this, but, your approach and directions make me feel like maybe I can!

    Like

    1. Suzi says:

      Wonder if I could make the dough in a bread machine? Then finish it “by hand”

      Like

      1. Janine says:

        I’m sure you could! I’ve never used a bread machine before, so I’m not sure if you’d have to adjust the rising time or anything. Let me know how it goes!

        Like

    2. Janine says:

      Awe thank you. Hope you give it a try, let me know how you like it if you do =]

      Like

  17. This looks delicious- I love cinnamon bread!

    Like

  18. Hii there! I just found your amazing blog through Angies fiesta friday. Im soo glad that i found your page. Love ur recipes. This one specially looks soo good. I love cinnamon rolls, will try this method next time. :)

    Like

    1. Janine says:

      Awe, thank you so much for stopping by. I look forward to reading your blog too!

      Like

  19. toozesty says:

    Oh my, what a show stopper!!! Just beautiful! I could imagine using all kinds of fillings with this technique but cinnamon sugar will be the first I’ll try.

    Like

    1. Janine says:

      Thank you! Agreed, the flavour options are endless! I’d love to hear what kinds of flavours you were thinking of trying?

      Like

      1. toozesty says:

        Nut paste comes to mind, also savory filling would be good like garlic Parmesan

        Like

      2. Janine says:

        Yum that sounds delicious, especially the savoury filling – let me know how it goes!

        Like

  20. As a pastry chef, these look wonderful!!! A few months back, I started using nutella to fill my croissants, and my family attacked them. LOL Your recipes look great, good job!!

    Like

    1. Janine says:

      Thank you so much! Haha, I believe it – cannot go wrong with Nutella!

      Like

      1. No you can not lol! Nutella goes really fast in this house haa! Especially on crepes. :)

        Like

    1. Janine says:

      Make itttt, so good! Haven’t made it since but have been meaning to

      Like

Leave a comment