Asian Almond Cookies

Happy belated Chinese New Years!

IMG_3444 copy

When it comes to this celebration, my family isn’t too traditional but its always nice to get everyone together for the celebration.

IMG_3441 copy

To mark this belated occasion (and completion of exams!), I decided to make these cookies for my grandma.

I’ve only eaten these cookies a handful of times, usually at banquet dinners for large celebrations. They have a subtle almond flavor with a crunchy exterior and more cakey interior. According to my mom, these cookies taste very similar to the restaurant cookies. You can find the original recipe here. If you don’t have almond flour like me, you could just grind a handful of almonds with a blender until the almonds are completely pulverized into a fine powder ( don’t forget to sift out the lumps!). From grinding the almonds, I had a little more almond flour than what the original recipe had called for, so I doubled the almond flour and slightly reduced the regular flour.

  • 1 1/3 C AP flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 C almond flour
  • 1/2 C butter, softened
  • 1/2 C sugar, or just under
  • 1/2 egg, beaten
  • 3 tbsp water
  • 1/2 tsp almond extract
  • 24 almonds, blanched and skin removed
  • 1/2 egg for egg wash
  1. Preheat oven to 350°F.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, salt, and ground almonds.
  3. In the bowl of a stand mixer, cream butter and sugar together until fluffy. Add half an egg, water, and almond extract – beat until smooth.
  4. Mix in dry ingredients until just combined.
  5. Using a dough scoop, form 1-inch balls of dough and place 2 inches apart on a prepared cookie sheet.
  6. Top each dough ball with an almond and brush the tops with egg wash.
  7. Bake for 18-20 mins or until golden brown.

I actually really liked the texture of these cookies more than the restaurant ones. I think the restaurant cookies are usually more crunchy and crumbly, but these were a bit softer and fluffier in the middle. I think grandma really liked them too!

IMG_3440 copy

Hope everyone had a wonderful new years – wishing you all health and prosperity!

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Very nice, Janine! Happy belated CNY to you. When you have the chance, come and check out my blog party. I would like for you to come join the fun. XOXO, Angie

    Like

    1. Janine says:

      Thank you! I’m behind on my blog reading but I will definitely try to join you all once I’m caught up – thanks for the invite!

      Like

  2. tworedbowls says:

    Yum!!! I love almond cookies, but I do get a little annoyed with how they crumble everywhere — a fluffier, chewier version sounds awesome.

    Like

    1. Janine says:

      Yes, I prefer this version over the traditional ones. My friend was telling me that they usually use a lot more lard in the traditional ones, so I guess that could be why they have such a crumbly texture. Hope you give them a try!

      Like

  3. Melisa R says:

    I love how round those turned out. Almond cookies are just the perfect cookies.

    Like

    1. Janine says:

      Thanks, using a mini dough scoop really helped!

      Like

Leave a comment