Thomas the Tank Engine

Thomas the tank engine cookies …

IMG_8541 copy

for a first birthday party!

IMG_8511 copy

Choochoo…!

Can’t believe Thomas is still so popular among the kids nowadays… [insert nostalgic-themed music] … I remember Thomas back when I was a wee little one… hah… guess it wasn’t thaat long ago.

An old friend mentioned that her little one was obsessed with Thomas… and reasonably so.. I mean, what kid wouldn’t be obsessed with this tank engine? Anyways, she asked if I could do some Thomas-themed cookies for her son’s 1st birthday party and I just couldn’t say no to Thomas. When I told my family that I was going to make Thomas-themed cookies, my dad asked if I wanted a Thomas model for the color scheme… I was thinking… what model? … and then he brought out an old Thomas toy train that was probably tormented to death by my brothers and I… Good old Thomas, hadn’t aged a bit.

IMG_8523 copy

It was a fun project and the cookies turned out super cute if I do say so myself. Because there were so many colors, the longest part was actually waiting for colors to dry before adding the next color (to prevent any color bleeding)… but be patient because it’ll all be worth it in the end!

Thomas the Tank Engine Cookies

  • Sky blue (all icing should be 15-second consistency)
  • Grey
  • Black
  • Red
  • Yellow
  1. With the sky blue, pipe out the body of the train using a #2 and then flood
  2. Once the blue is dry, pipe and flood the red bottom (#2) and line detail
  3.  Fill in the window with gray and then pipe in the wheels (#2). While the gray wheel is still wet, add in a dot of black icing (#3)
  4. Pipe and fill the black chimney (3)
  5. Once the blue base is completely dry, carefully pipe a “1” with red using a #1. Flood with yellow icing. If you aren’t confident with piping directly on the cookie, you can use the royal icing transfer method which you can find a completely tutorial here.
  6. Once completely dry, package the cookies up and enjoy!

Happy Baking! 

IMG_8520 copy

 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Joni Greer says:

    I love your website! I heard about you from Peggy Naples. Do you make gluten free cookies?

    Like

    1. Janine says:

      Thank you so much ! No sorry, I don’t make gluten free cookies at this time

      Like

  2. Jessica says:

    Beautiful cookies!!

    Like

  3. Gloria says:

    my son is a huge fan of Thomas and this would brighten his day. the cookies look fabulous!

    Like

    1. Janine says:

      Hope your son likes them and thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I absolutely love these, bring me right back to my childhood!

    Like

    1. Janine says:

      Thank you! Haha agreed, I loved that show growing up!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

