Flower Cookies

Continuing from last week’s post of Ari’s birthday cookies…

IMG_7922 copy

Because what tea party doesn’t have flowers?

Pastel flowers… pretty, colorful, playful, and perfect for just about any occasion. I actually had two different flower cutters, one with a stem and one without – was debating on using the flower without a stem and in hindsight, that may have made things a little easier to package. My thinking was that having a cookie with a stem would add a nice pop of green color; however, since the stem was so skinny, I found that the stems could snap off easily when moving the cookies. Had a little bit of a challenge packaging it all, but I think enough tissue paper and soft packaging material really helped prevent any stem breakage. Since I had packaged them all into a box, it was easy to stack the cookies on top of each other, but wrapping them up into favors may have caused major stem breakage.

IMG_7924 copy

For the construction of the cookie, I had piped the green stem on first, followed by the outline and flooding (#2) of the flower base color. After that was all dry, I added on the yellow centre and sprinkled yellow sanding sugar overtop – I personally like a little sparkle and texture in my cookies. Before coming up with the sanding sugar idea, I had initially tried piping this almost ‘spike-like’ design with a stiffer yellow icing, similar to a real flower, but the look just didn’t appeal to me at all. And if you aren’t a fan of either design variation, you could most definitely just leave it plain yellow.

Stay tuned for the last part of the birthday cookies – happy baking!

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Shailaja says:

    How cute are these flower cookies

    Liked by 1 person

  2. These are really cute!! Love them

    Like

  3. Shari Kelley says:

    I love these so much, Janine! They are very cheerful and fun. You’re the best cookie decorator! I agree with you about the green stems. The green color adds a lot.

    Like

    1. Janine says:

      Thank you for the kind words, Shari!

      Like

  4. Dang Ja these look so nice. They look simple and elegant. But I know they must have been a lot of work.

    Like

    1. Also I love the stems and leaves

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Janine says:

      Thanks! Yah they were a bit of work but not too bad. Fun little project =)

      Like

Leave a Reply

