Designing a cupcake

You know that feeling when you deliberately challenge yourself to get out of your comfort zone and learn something new? Well I decided to do that the other day and it was a pleasant surprise.

Cupcake 2

Lets rewind here… A few days ago, I decided that I wanted to learn how to create some very simple designs using Adobe Illustrator. Let me tell you… it was not easy. In fact, it was more of a hair-pulling struggle. With that being said, though it was extremely frustrating and difficult there was a small light at the end of the tunnel which was the slow piece-by-piece progression of the design towards completion.

Mind you, I wasn’t going in completely blind… I had the guidance of a tutorial but had mistakenly chosen some random intermediate one. I honestly wasn’t even looking at the difficulty level, I just decided that I wanted to make that particular graphic because it was a cupcake. Need I say more?

I’m glad I finished it because now I understand the challenge/ difficulty of creating graphics from scratch with the computer. Who would have thought you could turn a bunch of circles and squares into a cupcake? It is not easy… though the pro designers may make it seem that way. So here is my final product. I have to say that I’m quite happy with it… it only took maybe a few… hours… ish.

Cupcake

Then I kind of thought… well, what am I going to do with a random cupcake… what the heck, lets make a quiet baker button icon. I have to admit that I actually really like the end result. Hopefully my next design won’t be as challenging to make.

Thank you to all my wonderful readers, followers, and friends who continue to support the quiet baker. Cheers to another year gone and a new year to come – Wishing you all the best for 2015! 

PS – And don’t forget to try challenging yourself once in a while because you may surprise yourself! 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Georgia says:

    I agree- how do those graphic designers make it look so easy? I also tried making my own cupcake clip art a week or so ago using PowerPoint. I saw a tutorial online showing how to make these cute ladybugs in PowerPoint so I figured “Hey! I should make a cupcake for my blog!”
    Your cupcake came out much nicer and realistic looking than mine. I tried… Haha!

    Like

    1. Janine says:

      Thats all that matters though, right? Trying it out for yourself! Its tough stuff – never tried with powerpoint though. Haha, it wouldn’t have turned out this nice if my brother didn’t help me out

      Like

Leave a Reply

