Resse’s Chunk Ice Cream and Blog Tour

Yup, you heard me – Resse’s Chunk Ice Cream.

IMG_4091 copy

 Found the super cute mini resse’s peanut butter cups.

IMG_4070 copy

Ah, I love the size. Options are endless!

Rainy Vancouver has had its ups and downs with weather lately – sunny one minute and rain the next. BUT when its sunny, it really looks and feels a lot like summer. Looking forward to summer – constant sunshine, minimal rain, sweltering heat! (who am I kidding… Vancouver heat is nothing compared to Toronto or other parts of Canada) Anyways, as I was saying – ice cream screams summer, or any other time of the year I guess… but you get the point.

I was recently invited to join this neat blog tour by Andrea from Cooking with a Wallflower (check out her blog here). First off, I just wanted to thank Andrea for inviting me to join this blog tour =) The tour is  similar to a blogging award, in that once you participate,  you’ll invite other bloggers to join in. I’ve been fairly busy lately and wasn’t able to ask many bloggers if they wanted to take part; however, if you’d like to take part in this blog tour, please feel free! As part of the tour, I will answer the four following questions.

1. What are you working on?

I currently work full-time at a hospital, but when I have extra time on my days off, I enjoy cooking and baking for my family. Lately, my days off have been a little busier, so I haven’t had a chance to bake/ cook/ post as many entries as I’d like to. However, I do hope to dive into some summer-inspired dessert recipes as well as some foods of different cuisines.

2. How does your work differ from others of its genre?

I bake/ cook, ‘photo-shoot’, then blog about it – I’m sure that’s pretty much what every other blogger out there does as well. Aside from incorporating some personal tidbits into my writing, whether that be from my personal life, friends, or work, I’d say my recipe choices are usually very classic and common. I enjoy making true and tried recipes or foods that many have heard of or tried before – not too adventurous in the kitchen (yet). Since my family are the ones usually consuming my creations, I try to choose recipes that I think they’d enjoy (if you hadn’t noticed, the siblings are a little picky when it comes to food)

3. Why do you write what you do?

I write what I do because I want to share recipes, food tidbits, tips and tricks with others. Aside from my DIY projects, this blog is my creative outlet and for the most part, I find joy in sharing and connecting with other bloggers. The online blogging world is such a unique community and there is an abundance of creativity and talent.

4. How does your writing process work?

In terms of my writing process, I don’t think I have a real process. I research a recipe, make it, try it, photo-shoot, and then decide if I’d like to share it on my blog. I also try to incorporate tips or things that I did differently that either helped me achieve the dish or was an easier alternative. Lastly, I like to keep things short and sweet; usually minimal rambling.

 And now, onto the food!

IMG_4083 copy

I’ve never had peanut butter ice cream before, but was/ am still very curious. I was actually very hesitant about making straight peanut butter ice cream, because I wasn’t sure how everyone would like it or if they’d eat it. So I chickened out and just went with vanilla. Just as well because the vanilla picked up a bit of the peanut butter flavor from the chocolate peanut butter chunks. This ice cream was deelicious and would win any peanut butter/ chocolate lover’s heart. Cannot wait to make this again once summer arrives.

IMG_4101 copy

Enjoy!

Resse's Chunk Ice Cream

  • Servings: 4
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

  • 1/2 C splenda
  • 1/4 C sugar
  • 2 C heavy cream
  • 2 C milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 3/4 C mini resse’s cups, roughly chopped
  1. Measure out splenda and sugar in a large container with a spout
  2. Add a small amount of heavy cream, just enough to form a paste with the sugars. Whisk until sugar/ splenda are dissolved.
  3. Add in remaining amount of cream, milk, and vanilla. Whisk until completely combined.
  4. Using your ice cream machine, freeze according to manufacturer’s instructions. About 5 minutes before the ice cream is done, add in the chopped resse’s chunks.

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Lori says:

    This looks so refreshing! And fun to read some more about you and learn that you work in a hospital!

    Like

    1. Janine says:

      Haha Thanks for reading!

      Like

Leave a Reply

