Carrot Cake

Carrot cake is such a classic.

IMG_3897 copy

I haven’t made this cake in a really long time, but was craving something with cinnamon and raisins.

IMG_3886 copy

This fit the bill perfectly.

I can’t remember how long I was craving something with cinnamon and raisins but I couldn’t put my finger on what exactly I wanted (don’t you just hate that?) At first I thought… oatmeal raisin cookies… that’s definitely what I want… but nope, just didn’t cut it so the craving and search continued. Then I thought, carrot cake! Yess, plus I had some leftover creamed cheese frosting from the red velvet cake-balls, so it was a win win (and exactly what I needed – cinnamon raisin craving satisfied!)

Love this cake! It was so moist, light, and fluffy, even after spending a few days in the refrigerator. Surprisingly, my whole family seemed to like it as well – the whole pan was gone within two days (that never happens!). Didn’t make too many modifications to the original recipe because its truly a great recipe to start with.

Head over to the Friday Fiesta at the Novice Gardener’s page for some fun, great food, and more great food!

IMG_3894 copy

A slice of this with a cup of tea = my kind of afternoon.

 Enjoy! 

Carrot Cake

  • Servings: 10
  • Time: 2 hours
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 C milk + 1 tbsp vinegar (didn’t have buttermilk)
  • 1/2 C vegetable oil
  • 1/2 C sugar + 1/2 C Splenda (or 1 C sugar)
  • 1 1/4 tsp vanilla
  • 1 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1 C AP flour
  • 1/3 C WW flour
  • 1 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1 1/3 C carrots, shredded
  • 6 oz crushed pineapple + juice
  • 2/3 C raisins
  • Cream cheese frosting
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and prepare baking pan – grease and flour an 8×12 inch pan.
  2. In a medium bowl, sift together dry ingredients: AP / WW flours, baking soda, salt and cinnamon then set aside.
  3. In a large bowl, combine wet ingredients: eggs, milk + vinegar, oil, sugar/ Splenda and vanilla. Once everything has been mixed well, add dry ingredients and mix until everything is combined.
  4. In a medium bowl, combine shredded carrots, pineapple, and raisins.
  5. Slowly add carrot mixture to batter and fold in until completely incorporated.
  6. Pour into prepared pan, and bake at 350 degrees F for 40 minutes or until done.
  7. Allow to completely cool before spreading the frosting over-top. Serve at room temperature or cover and refrigerate for up to a week.

The original recipe was from allrecipes.com – I tweaked it just a tad, but it still turned out great.

 

29 thoughts on “Carrot Cake

  1. Well I’m glad you pinpointed exactly what you were craving!! And I’m glad it was this carrot cake! I love carrot cake.. and a sheet cake? I love them because I can spend the day walking past it and slicing just a sliver from it whenever I want. Of course, that just leads to me eating the half the cake by noon… :-)
    Thank you so much for bringing this deliciously moist and cream cheesy cake to Fiesta Friday! A most perfect choice! <3

    Like

    • Haha thanks. And I know right!? Before you know it, half the cake is gone because you’ve been taking small slivers here and there – def my problem with sheet cakes !

      Like

  2. Pingback: (A Forager’s) Fiesta Friday #13 | The Novice Gardener

  3. I can relate with Patty. I keep seeing carrot cake or cupcakes everywhere and I haven’t had one before. Maybe it’s time for me to make some, too! This looks delicious!! :)

    Like

Leave a Reply

