Red Velvet Cake Balls

Soft fluffy cake covered in a crunchy chocolate shell.

IMG_3883 copy

Similar to truffles, but better.

IMG_3870 copy

Remember the red velvet cake I made a little while back? If you need a refresher, check it out here.

IMG_3868 copy

What to do with leftover cake and frosting? Make cake balls obviously. For more detailed instructions and how-to, check out my previous cakepops and cakeballs recipe.

You’ll need a few things to create these easy treats:

  • Your favorite red velvet cake, crumbled
  • Cream cheese frosting
  • Chocolate candy coating
  • Sprinkles of your choice
  1. Bake your cake. Allow it to cool and crumble it into small pieces.
  2. Make your frosting of choice.
  3. Add enough frosting into the cake crumbs, just to allow the cake to clump together and hold the shape of a ball.
  4. Make balls out of the moist cake crumbs, chill in the freezer for 10 mins
  5. Dip the balls one by one into the melted candy coating, transfer to parchment, and quickly add sprinkles of your choice before the chocolate hardens.

IMG_3866 copy

Personally, I like to store and eat my cake-balls straight out of the freezer. The cake doesn’t completely freeze solid, but it firms up a little and the chocolate coating becomes very crunchy (plus, they last way longer if kept in the freezer). Mmmm pure chocolate bliss.  

Headed over to Angie’s Friday Fiesta party – check out the complete party line up here!

 

34 Comments Add yours

  1. Wow, these red velvet cake balls are just gorgeous!

    Like

  2. sabine says:

    really, really cool! I adore these treats!

    Like

  3. Great idea! I once ruined a cake for being impatient (took it off from the pan too early), so now i know what to do with the cake if that happens again. :)

    Like

    1. Janine says:

      Yes, this is true. You wouldn’t even know the difference once the icing is mixed in! Thanks for stopping by =)

      Like

  4. Oh.. I need to try making these! They’re so pretty, and look so delicious… :-) love this!

    Like

    1. Janine says:

      Yes, you really do! Just a little twist on plain old cake. Let me know how it goes if you end up making them =)

      Like

  5. Hilda says:

    So pretty! I will try to make the balls a little egg-shaped for Easter if it’s possible.

    Like

    1. Janine says:

      Thanks and that’s a great idea – very fitting for spring!

      Like

    1. Janine says:

      Haha thanks !

      Like

  6. chefjulianna says:

    Pssst! Janine…quick! I just overheard Jhuls talking to Justine – she’s going to offer you $50.00 for your plate of Red Velvet Cake Balls…I’ll give you $75.00… Oh no wait a minute, I can’t do that! I’m co-hosting this week and Angie might never ask me to do it again :'( Darn, well maybe you can make them again next week when I’m just a regular guest? :D OMG! These look just to die for, I can’t wait to sink my teeth into these little beauties!

    Like

    1. Janine says:

      Sold for $75! Haha I guess the guests wouldn’t mind the same dish two weeks in a row? Thank you !

      Like

      1. chefjulianna says:

        Phew! They are all mine!! :D

        Like

  7. Amazing, little Red Velvet Cake Balls! The finish is perfect.

    Like

    1. Janine says:

      Thank you so much! Can’t take all the credit, the store bought candy coating really worked well =)

      Like

  8. saucygander says:

    I’ve recently discovered cake balls too, aren’t they a great way to save leftover cake? The red velvet centre is too cute, and your cake balls look much more professional than mine! :-D

    Like

    1. Janine says:

      Yes, they are great! So versatile and just another fun way to eat cake! Thank you – I do have to say that the lighting was in point that day to produce that red hue.

      Like

  9. Even though I’ve never done cake balls, I have to say that I’m really fascinated by them. Your velvet cake are rally cute and original… you did a great job, they are perfect!

    Like

    1. Janine says:

      Thank you so much. You need to try making these treats at least once! They are so different and fun at the same time !

      Like

  10. These look really good Janine!!

    Like

    1. Janine says:

      Thank you and thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  11. Patty Nguyen says:

    These are so pretty, Janine! I love your shots of them as well! Beautiful photography!

    Like

    1. Janine says:

      Thank you so much, Patty =)

      Like

  12. Ngan R. says:

    These are beautiful, Janine! These are so great for parties and it gives me a great idea to make them for my anniversary (our cake was red velvet). They look too perfect to eat, well, almost. I’m going to eat a bunch!

    Like

    1. Janine says:

      Thanks! Yes I agree that these would be a great dessert ‘finger food’ addition to parties. Hope you like them!

      Like

  13. LFFL says:

    Now those are really cute! Who doesn’t love red velvet?!

    Like

    1. Janine says:

      Thanks! Haha I know, right!

      Like

  14. milkandbun says:

    Wow! Looks awesome! Great way of using cake leftovers :)

    Like

    1. Janine says:

      Thank you! Yes, it’s an easy way to switch up regular cake =)

      Like

  15. Wow, what cute creations and beautiful photos you have on your blog! ;-) Thanks for checking out my blog so I could discover yours. Really looking forward to read more from you! ;-) hugs

    Like

    1. Janine says:

      Thank you, Sylvia! I am looking forward to reading your future posts as well =)

      Like

Leave a Reply

