Christmas Baking and a Gingerbread House

The countdown to Christmas is officially on…

IMG_3083(1)

We decided to get in the holiday spirit by making our first homemade gingerbread house!

IMG_3030(1)

I love gingerbread houses – they are so fun to make and you can get really creative! This was the first time I’ve actually made the house from scratch and I don’t think I can ever go back to prepackaged kits. Years ago after we made a house from a prepackaged kit, we decided to eat it… but I don’t think we even ate much because it honestly tasted like cardboard!  (wasn’t too fond of gingerbread after that, until I started making my own)

IMG_3020(1)

I’m sure any gingerbread recipe would work, but here’s the recipe that I went with.  The base was 4 by 4 inches and the height was about 5 inches. You could print off a stencil (lots on the internet) or use a ruler and just free-hand the cuts. I couldn’t be bothered to cut out a stencil so I just measured and free-handed the pieces. Also, if you’d like to add windows and doors, I found it easier to cut them out before baking the cookies.

IMG_3034(1)

Here are some basic materials you may need:

  • Gingerbread cookie dough
  • Royal icing – lots of this stuff!
  • Square pretzels (windows)
  • Candy – Round jellies, mini m&ms, and whatever else you’d like

IMG_3025(1)

I love our house! We were actually contemplating on whether we should eat the house because it seems like such a waste to just let it sit there… but then again, I guess it could just be a part of the Xmas decor? Definitely a fun activity to do with others over the holidays!

IMG_3075(1)

The gingerbread house wouldn’t be complete without gingerbread men – Happy baking!

(PS – If you’d like some inspiration for your own gingerbread house or would like to see some very creative houses, check out this site)

17 thoughts on “Christmas Baking and a Gingerbread House

  1. My first gingerbread house was a packaged one, from Aldi no less. My friends and I each bought a pack, and spent a evening decorating them. Loads of fun, terrible cardboard taste. Yours look too cute for words, especially with the gingerbread men! :-D

    Like

    • Thank you and thank you so much for stopping by! I found that the more candy I threw on the house, the better it looked, so I just kept going till I was almost out – Happy baking!

      Like

  2. wooo from scratch !? it’s soooo pretty ! it looks like one you would buy in a store ! im impressed ! mine never seem to hold long enough to even take a picture !

    Like

  3. Pingback: 2013 Wrap-up | the quiet baker

Leave a Reply

