Baked Whole Wheat Vegetable Samosas

So remember how I said I wouldn’t be posting for a while? I kind of take that back… I shall try my best. The last five posts were written about a month ago, so I actually haven’t written anything for a while now. Plus, I currently  don’t have my brother’s SLR with me, so please forgive my not-so-pretty photos that I took with bad lighting/ a phone camera.

Update on what’s been happening in my life: I’m at the tail end of my practicum… about one month left, then out into the real world! It’s a mixed bag of feelings – excitement, terror, nervousness, and anything else you can think of. All in all, I’m glad I can finally say that I can now see the finish-line and feel ready to be done.

2013-10-04 17.00.44

With that being said, onto the recipe details. I’ve been away from home for just over a month now (hence the different lighting/ upcoming photos) and have been trying out different recipes. One recipe that I’ve always wanted to try to make was samosas. I never thought to try making these at home for my family because I wasn’t sure how my family would like them.

The original recipe that I found makes 12 mini samosas.

  • 1 C WW flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp thyme
  • 1 1/2 tbsp olive oil
  • ~25 ml water
  • 1 tbsp fennel seeds
  • 1 1/4 tsp coriander seeds
  • 1 tbsp cumin seeds (omitted this)
  • 1/2 tsp ginger
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1/4 onion, diced
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1 1/2 C potatoes, baked and soft
  • 3/4 C mixed vegetables
  • Olive oil
  1. Dough: mix together all dry ingredients in a large bowl. Add enough water just to make dough stick together, should be a stiff dough. Knead for 5 mins until elastic, then wrap dough in Saran and allow to rest for 10-15mins
  2. Filling: toast fennel and coriander seeds in a pot. Once toasted, transfer to a cutter board and using a rolling pin, rollover seeds to break them open
  3. Add 1 1/2 tbsp olive oil into a pot and sauté onion, garlic, fennel, coriander, ginger, salt and pepper until onion turns translucent (approx 4 mins). Add mixed vegetables and potatoes. Using a fork, mash up potatoes into the spice mix. Add more seasoning if desired. Set aside to cool.
  4. Divide dough into 6 equal pieces. Roll each piece of dough into a longer oval shape, then cut oval into two pieces. Bring straight edges together and make a cone shape, fill with 2 tbsp filling then seal the cone.
  5. Freeze at this step if desired – Separate samosas with Saran Wrap and place in a ziplock bag to freeze.
  6. Baking : preheat oven to 375 degrees F. On a lined baking sheet, place samosas at least 1 inch apart. Brush each side with olive oil and bake for 20 mins. Flip samosas over and bake for another 10 mins or until crisp.

The samosas turned out delicious, especially warm straight out of the oven. They were a bit of work, but that could have been because I didn’t have my regular kitchen supplies… For instance, I had to think of creative ways to crush the spices/ roll the dough without a rolling pin (found a wooden spoon and used the handle!). Enjoy!

6 Comments Add yours

  1. ubc.neuroscience@ubc.ca says:

    Poor you! Out in the sticks with the grizzlies! You must try making them with cumin since it gives a more authentic flavour even though it can sometimes smell like BO. You can also crush with the bottom of a pot and roll with a bottle. Freeze on a plastic lined large plate or cookie sheet and once they’re frozen solid, transfer to a ziplock bag. Had a chance to make samosas when I first visited India. The fillings were very simple like partially mashed potatoes and peas, but everything was very flavourful.

    Like

    1. Janine says:

      Haha haven’t seen any grizzlies yet, mostly deer out here! Thanks for those tips Auntie Liz – I’ll have to try making these again once I’m back (with cumin!)

      Like

  2. Good luck with finishing up your practicum! These samosas look delicious, even without the use of your usual kitchen supplies!

    Like

    1. Janine says:

      Thanks so much!

      Like

  3. saucygander says:

    The samosas look pretty tasty!

    Like

    1. Janine says:

      Thanks, they were – enjoy!

      Like

Leave a Reply

