Lemon Thumbprint Cookies

  In my previous post, I mentioned that C and I brought toblerone toffee bars (recipe) and lemon thumbprint cookies to our end of summer bbq potluck.

IMG_2668(1)

I decided to go with these thumbprint cookies because I had some leftover lemon curd that I wanted to use up. The leftover curd was from the mini lemon tarts that I made for our DIY high tea potluck.

IMG_2667(1)

I came across this recipe on Glorious Treats site – they looked gorgeous (they reminded me of a high tea treat actually)

  • 3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar (plus a little extra for dusting the finished cookies)
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon fresh lemon zest
  • 1 Tablespoon fresh lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup prepared lemon curd
  1. Beat butter in a large bowl until smooth, add sugars and continue mixing.  Add egg, lemon zest, lemon juice and vanilla – mix until incorporated.
  2. Slowly add baking powder, and flour. Once fully incorporated, stop the mixing process and cover dough. Chill in the fridge for 1 hour.
  3. Place lemon curd into a small ziplock bag, and cut off one corner of the bag (my curd was too runny for this, so I just spooned the curd)
  4. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  5. Using a cookie scooper, scoop balls of dough, then roll by hand to smooth out. Place on lined baking sheet and slightly flatten dough balls with hands. Using a round tsp measuring spoon, make a hole in the center of each dough ball. Fill with ~ 1 tsp lemon curd.
  6. Bake cookies approx 15 mins or until edges are golden brown. Remove from oven, cool slightly, then transfer to wire rack to cool fully.  Dust cookies with powdered sugar.

IMG_2669(1)

These cookies were very soft and lemony. They had a nice flavor, but in all honesty, they weren’t one of my super favorite lemon desserts. (I think I’d much rather prefer a mini lemon tart!)

2 thoughts on “Lemon Thumbprint Cookies

Leave a Reply

