Green Tea Coconut Ice Cream

Remember how I’ve been slightly obsessed with matcha?

IMG_1417

The latest and greatest – ice cream.

IMG_1416

Always been a fan of green tea sweets – cream puffs, lattes, cakes, cookies, and ice cream (obviously).

  • 1 can of light coconut milk (14 oz)
  • 2 1/3C milk
  • 3 egg egg yolks
  • 2/3 C sugar
  • 2 1/2 tbsp matcha powder
  1. Dissolve matcha powder in enough hot water to form a paste (approx 2 tbsp)
  2. Add coconut milk, milk, sugar, and matcha paste to a pot. Bring to a gentle boil over medium heat. Remove from the heat.
  3. Beat yolks in a medium bowl. Whisk 1 cup of the hot cream into the egg yolks. Gradually add egg mixture in a slow, steady stream, to the hot cream.
  4. Cook over medium-low heat, stirring occasionally, until the mixture thickens enough to coat the back of a spoon  (approx. 5 minutes).
  5. Remove from heat and strain through a fine mesh strainer into a clean container.
  6. Cool before refrigerating. Cover with plastic wrap and chill in the refrigerator.
  7. Freeze according to the manufacturer’s instructions.

IMG_1413

This was the first time I’ve used coconut milk to make ice cream. Its quite good actually, plus the coconut flavor wasn’t too strong and overpowering.

IMG_1423

One other thing I did notice about the ice cream was that there was a very subtle almost chalky texture? Not sure if that’s from the coconut or the powder… I suspect it might be from the powder but I don’t know why that would be because I dissolved it all.

14 thoughts on “Green Tea Coconut Ice Cream

  1. I do not know whether it’s just me or if perhaps everyone else experiencing problems with your site. It appears like some of the written text in your content are running off the screen. Can somebody else please provide feedback and let me know if this is happening to them too? This might be a problem with my web browser because I’ve had this happen previously.
    Kudos

    Like

  2. Hi there! This blog post couldn’t be written much better! Looking at this post reminds me of my previous roommate! He constantly kept talking about this. I will forward this information to him. Pretty sure he will have a great read. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  3. poussoirs ressort
    Howdy just wanted to give you a quick heads up and let you know
    a few of the pictures aren’t loading correctly. I’m not sure why but I think its a linking
    issue. I’ve tried it in two different web browsers
    and both show the same results.

    Like

Leave a Reply

