Easter Dinner

My first turkey experience…

IMG_1286

with Dad’s help of course!

IMG_1288

Our turkey was massive Dad estimated that it was over 20 pounds!

Dad and I prepared this bird for our family’s Easter dinner. He did all the heavy lifting, while I rinsed, seasoned, and stuffed =]

  • 1 giant turkey
  • Salt
  • Garlic pepper seasoning
  • Butter spray
  • Stuffing (enough to fill the cavity)
  1. Salt turkey (inside and out) then rinse well.
  2. Season both inside and outside with garlic pepper seasoning – rub it in to evenly distribute
  3. Stuff the turkey with your stuffing of choice. We went with Apple Cranberry Stuffing – click here for the recipe.
  4. Add potatoes around the turkey if you’d like – Our bird was a leaner, so we propped it up with potatoes.
  5. Bake at 375 degrees F, covered with aluminum for 4- 6 hrs depending on the size of the turkey. We checked the temp at 4 1/4 hrs and the temp ~ 170 degrees F.
  6. Once the temperature reaches 170 degrees F, taken at the thickest part of the turkey, remove aluminum and bake (convection) uncovered for 30 minutes to brown the skin.

IMG_1290

Apple Cranberry Stuffing – So good, my favorite.

IMG_1295

The greens – roasted brussel sprouts and asparagus.

IMG_1299

And the orange – roasted yams.

IMG_1283

Making a turkey once every year is good enough for me.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Wow, I’m impressed!! I’ve been too scared to cook an entire turkey by myself, so I always let my parents host Thanksgiving. Yours looks so juicy and tender!

    Like

    1. Janine says:

      Thank you so much! I felt the same way before, but it wasn’t as intimidating as I thought. It’s definitely very helpful to have an extra pair of hands in the kitchen. You should give it a try!

      Like

      1. Maybe next Thanksgiving, I’ll volunteer to be my dad’s sous chef. Hopefully he’ll be patient with me!

        Like

Leave a Reply

