Smoked Salmon Eggs Benny

I remember I made this around my birthday. My friends had just taken me out for brunch and I ordered salmon eggs benny… then for some reason, the very next day, I felt like making it. It was overkill – too much of a good thing for one weekend.

image

For some strange reason, I also decided that I wanted to try to make english muffins. I liked cooking them actually. It was neat to see them puff up in the pan.

English Muffins (Original Recipe)

  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 tablespoons white sugar
  • 1 1/4 tsp active dry yeast
  • 1/2 cup warm water (110 degrees F/45 degrees C)
  • 1 1/2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 cups WW flour
  • 1 cup AP flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  1. Microwave milk in a heatproof cup until hot, about 45 – 60 seconds. Mix in the sugar, stirring until dissolved. Let cool until lukewarm. In a small bowl, dissolve yeast in warm water. Let stand until creamy, about 10 minutes.
  2. In a large bowl, combine the milk, yeast mixture, oil and 1 1/2 cups flour. Beat until smooth. Add salt and rest of flour, or enough to make a soft dough. Knead. Place in greased bowl, cover, and let rise.
  3. Punch down. Roll out to about 1/2 inch thick. Cut rounds with biscuit cutter, drinking glass, or empty tuna can. Sprinkle waxed paper with cornmeal and set the rounds on this to rise. Dust tops of muffins with cornmeal or flour.Cover and let rise 1/2 hour.
  4. Heat a lightly oiled pan. Cook muffins for about 10 minutes on each side on medium heat. Keep baked muffins in a warm oven until all have been cooked. Allow to cool and place in plastic bags for storage.

image

On to the creamy hollandaise sauce – used this super easy recipe. Scaled it down because I thought three yolks would make too much sauce.

  • 1 egg yolks
  • 1/8 teaspoon Dijon mustard
  • 1/2 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1/4 cup butter
  1. In the container of a blender, combine the egg yolk, mustard, and lemon juice. Cover, and blend for about 5 seconds.
  2. Heat butter in the microwave for about 1 minute, or until completely melted and hot. Set the blender on high speed, and pour the butter into the egg yolk mixture in a thin stream. (I used a magic bullet, so I had to just add it after I blended the yolk)
  3. It should thicken almost immediately. Keep the sauce warm until serving by placing the blender container in a pan of hot tap water.

Once you have the muffins and sauce, you’re pretty much ready to poach some eggs. Then just assemble the whole thing and enjoy a delicious breakfast. This was just one way to enjoy smoked salmon. Alternatively, you could enjoy it on crackers, pizza, or whatever else. I’ll post my smoked salmon pizza recipe sometime down the road, stay tuned!

Lastly, a thank you goes out to my Auntie Liz for giving us the smoked salmon / being a long time blog follower =]

3 thoughts on “Smoked Salmon Eggs Benny

  1. Pingback: Smoked Salmon Pizza | the quiet baker

Leave a Reply

