Lemon Macarons

This was my first attempt at making macs in a really long time…  was probably due to the utter fear that they just wouldn’t turn out.

But they turned out totally fine, so I’m happy.

More lemons you ask?? Yes! I’ve been trying to use up our lemons, since I bought about 8 of them. Plus they taste so good.

Lemon Macarons – slightly adapted from my previous mac post

Last time, I wrote that this recipe made about 28 small cookies, but I piped them the size of what you would find in stores, and it made about 15 cookies… so that’s about 7 macarons

I’m only going to post the ingredients here, since the method is about the same as last time:

  • 36 g egg whites, fresh and aged for about 48 hrs (works out to approx 1 white)
  • 29 g Almond Powder
  • 58 g Confectioners Sugar
  • 18 g Granulated Sugar
  • ~ 1/2 tsp lemon zest

The only thing I changed from last time was my oven rack height. I decided to try these at the very  middle rack, rather than the top rack like last time and they seemed fine. Left them in the oven for about 12 minutes in total. At around 10, I found they were starting to brown a bit so I decreased the oven temp to 250 degrees F (don’t even know if this made a difference). I have a feeling my oven is hotter than most, so I think I’ll try baking these starting at 275 degrees F and see how it goes from there. Test out your ovens, since not all work the same.

Lemon Curd Filling (Original recipe)

  • 1 egg
  • ~1/4 cup sugar
  • 3 tablespoons and 1/4 teaspoon fresh lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon margarine
  • 1-1/4 teaspoons grated lemon peel
  • Optional: 1 drop yellow food coloring

1)  Fill a pot with about 1 1/2 inches of water. Bring to simmer.

2)  In a heat-proof mixing bowl, beat eggs and sugar until combined, then place over heat. Stir in lemon juice, butter and lemon peel. Cook over simmering water for 5 minutes or until thickened. (should coat the back of a spoon)

3)  Mix in a drop or two of food coloring if you’d like. Chill the curd in the fridge for about 10 minutes to help it thicken up a little more, then fill the macs!

In terms of the curd – after tasting my lemon tart, which turn out way too sweet, I was afraid to add the actually amount of sugar, so I added a bit less than 1/4 C and figured I could add more, depending on taste. It was just right. Tasted much better compared to my super sweet tart.

Love how you can see specs of lemon zest on some of the macs (don’t think I got a good picture of this). Would have added more, but was afraid it would mess up the batter somehow.

Really liked how this batch turned out. The curd wasn’t too sweet and paired quite well with the shell. Even though I added a little zest to the shells, I don’t think it was enough for the flavor to really come through.

Yum yum. Still amazes me that one of these cookies sells for about $2.

4 thoughts on “Lemon Macarons

Leave a Reply

