Project Cookie: Princess Birthday

Princess birthday bash anyone??

If you’ve read some of my previous posts, you’ve probably heard me refer to a little girl named Ari. Anyways, it was her 5th birthday party this past weekend and her party was absolutely insane – so much food (made from scratch!), a giant pink castle cake, non-stop entertainment for the kids and so much more (Good work on her parents’ parts!). A few weeks back, her parents asked if I was interested in making some cookies for the lucky kids who got invited to her party. Ch’yeahh I was. So here they are: pink and purple princess-themed dresses for the gals and jerseys for the boys.

C and I originally went searching for a crown-shaped cutter, but didn’t have any luck finding a nice one. So, C actually came up with the idea of using the same dress concept from the wedding cookies. Smart boy I tell you.

They totally worked, loved how the dresses turned out.

I had one little problem with the sanding sugar though… So after I had let the cookies sit and dry overnight, the sanding sugar decided to change color from purple to blue. Who knew sanding sugar was magic like that? I still can’t figure out why it did that. I thought maybe it was just because of the purple food coloring, so I colored some sugar pink, stuck it on the cookies and let them sit overnight too.

Can you guess what happened? Yah, they totally changed color too… from a nice magenta pink to some weird bluish tinge. I don’t even know. My guess would be that the food coloring somehow seeped into the cookies instead of staying on the sugar? Annoying I tell you… This problem only happened when the sugar was on the cookies, not when the sugar was left in a jar overnight… so strange. If anyone knows why this happened, please let me know!

Anyways, moral of the story, probably going to just avoid the Wilton gel colors to color sanding sugar next time. Water-based or powder-based colors might work better? We’ll try…

The final project – Donezos!

I forgot where I saw this idea, but it was just too cute that I had to try to make one too.

A personalized cookie jar complete with cookies and extra name labels.

Happy Birthday Ari, hope you had a fun and memorable party!


2 Comments Add yours

  1. Geraldine says:

    They are so cute!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

