Pink Ombre Cupcakes

Happy Belated Birthday Blog, have a pink ombre cupcake =]

Definition of ombre: adjective shaded or graduated in tone.

Can you kind of see the pink tone change from dark to light?

To reiterate my cupcake perspective : not the biggest fan BUT I think they are growing on me… Much cuter than whole giant cakes that’s for sure.

On a whim, in the middle of studying, I decided that I wanted to make cupcakes. Ombre cupcakes, specifically… and to also attempt some piped flower design on top too. I’m not completely sure what sparked the sudden urge to make cupcakes… might have been attributed to the fact that my brother borrowed an SLR camera and asked me to bake something so he could take pretty pictures? Quite possibly… besides, it was a win-win situation.

So here’s a display of both his art and my art. I must say that the camera takes some beautiful pictures (as expected for a $$$$ camera!), plus all the settings/ effects you can manually tweak.

Looked up an easy vanilla cupcake recipe + buttercream icing recipe:

I decided to cut the original recipe in half, since this was the first time trying this recipe…. in case they didn’t turn out. Squeezed out 6 cupcakes with this recipe.

  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/3 cup milk
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Line a muffin pan with paper liners.
  2. In a medium bowl, cream together the sugar and butter. Beat in the eggs, one at a time, then stir in the vanilla. Combine flour and baking powder, add to the creamed mixture and mix well. Finally stir in the milk until batter is smooth.
  3. The Ombre effect: choose a food coloring (I used red). Divide the batter equally into 3 bowls and add more coloring to each subsequent bowl – First bowl: 1 drop of coloring, Second bowl: 2-3 drops, Third bowl: 3-4 drops. Mix well, then layer a spoonful of each shade into the liners. I started with darkest pink on the bottom, to lightest pink on the top.
  4. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes or when toothpick comes out clean. Cake is done when it springs back to the touch.

This recipe was very easy and the cake is not bad. A little bland, but I guess that’s what you can expect with plain vanilla. We tasted the cake a few hours after decorating and it actually had a slight greasiness and heaviness to it. Wasn’t really liking the cake at that point. Strangely enough, I tried another bite after leaving the cakes in the fridge overnight, and the greasy characteristic seemed to be gone. It also didn’t seem as heavy for some reason. Maybe this cake just gets better as it sits? Mystery.

I was hoping the ombre effect would have been more noticeable but it was probably because I didn’t add enough color to the batters. I guess it also didn’t help that the colors melded together as the batter baked…

For the flower, I used an Ateco #104 leaf tip, courtesy of Amanda (Thanks!). I basically piped separate layers of crescent moons, which came to look like petals. It was a total of 3 petal layers to produce the flower shape plus a small blob on the very top middle.

Andddd I just wanted to end this post by saying: Exams are over and I’m FREEEEEEE from school for a couple of months! Will still be learning, but not in a classroom – its practicum time! Watch out world, student sonographer on the loose! WOOT WOOT! So excited. So burnt out. And honestly just really tired. Planning to sleep for a couple of days till the brain starts working again.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Georgia says:

    Hi! I just found your blog and your recipes look so delicious! Your pictures are great too!

    Like

    1. Janine says:

      Thank you so much =)

      Like

Leave a Reply

