Microwave Lava Cake

Yupp, you heard me.

Love the convenience of using a microwave to heat food, but I’ve never really thought of using it as a method to cook raw food (let alone bake). There are actually a lot of interesting microwave recipes out there. This recipe caught my eye because, well… 5 minute chocolate lava cake? Need I say more?

lol I realize that it looks like an unattractive brown blob, but trust me, it tastes better than it looks.

Enough said, let’s microwave.

The following recipe will make one individual cake:

  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 3 tbsp milk
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1/2 tbsp granulated sugar
  • 1/2 tbsp cocoa
  • 1 1/2 tbsp coffee (hot or cold)

**Warning: though I microwaved my cake for about 1 min and 15 secs on high, it turned out a little more cooked than I wanted (as in minimal lava spillage). Depending on how powerful your microwave is, you may want to experiment with the ‘cooking’ time to achieve the ‘lava’ sauce.

1)  Lightly grease a microwave-safe container.

2)  In a bowl, stir together sugar, flour, salt, and cocoa powder. Add milk and vanilla, stir till smooth. Pour into prepared container.

3)  Using the previous bowl, mix together the last 4 ingredients: brown sugar, granulated sugar, cocoa, and coffee. Pour into the cup and gently swirl it in; don’t mix thoroughly. **Tip: ensure there is at least 1 inch between the rim of the container and the batter, as it will puff up and rise.


4)  Cook in microwave for about 1 minute on HIGH, depending on how powerful your microwave is. When it’s done, it’ll look set on top, and kind of mushy around the edges.


5)  Turn the cake onto a plate. It’ll be layered with ‘sauce’. It’s actually semi-baked batter, but since there are no eggs in here, it’s fine.

Notice the ‘sauce’ only around the outer cake edge

My cake had a bit of gooey ‘sauce’, but not as much as I’d like. It could have been because I let it sit before turning the cake out onto a plate? Planning to experiment with cooking times… think I’ll try maybe 50 seconds on HIGH next time or just over 1 min on MED. The cake itself is pretty good – fluffy, not too sweet, and not too chocolaty. You could also try adding some peanut butter frosting to complement this gooey chocolate cake – it only crossed my mind because I had some left over from the Reese’s cups.

Delicious and well worth 5 minutes.

Leave a Reply

