Baked Beans

Sorry for the delay on posting! Everything is just going by SO quickly right now, hard to keep track of anything.

Here’s a post that I actually wrote a month ago (and forgot to post it)

So I’d like to share with you my latest and strangest food obsession: baked beans. I mentioned a few posts ago that I had tasted and really enjoyed baked beans for the first time on the cruise. Well, as promised, I searched up a recipe and got on with my bean craze.

Made this dish and not even joking, ate baked beans with my breakfast, mid-morning snack, lunch, and dinner. So good. None left from the batch I made, so I should probably go make some more…

Initially, the sauce had a very strong Worcestershire flavor, but sitting in the fridge overnight allowed the flavors to blend a bit more. The recipe also called for dried navy beans, however, I only had canned beans on hand, so I used those instead. Canned beans worked out well – there was less cooking time and I only had to wait about 45 minutes to enjoy the baked bean goodness.

  • 2 cups navy beans, canned
  • 1/2 onion, finely diced
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons molasses
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon mustard
  • 1/4 cup ketchup
  • 1/2 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
1. Open canned beans and reserve liquid. Place beans in casserole dish.
2. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F (165 degrees C).
3. In a saucepan, combine onion, molasses, salt, pepper, mustard, ketchup, Worcestershire sauce and brown sugar. Bring the mixture to a boil and pour over beans. Pour in just enough of the reserved bean water to cover the beans. Cover the dish with a lid or aluminum foil.

4. Bake for about 45 minutes to 1 hour in the preheated oven. Remove the lid/ foil about halfway through cooking and add more liquid if necessary to prevent the beans from getting too dry.
Yum… love beans. The parents’ reaction to my bean obsession was something like ‘er…what’s so special about baked beans??.. we ate baked beans all the time, back in the day’… the next day, dad says he has a present for me… 2 cans of prepared baked beans =] Thx dad.
Leave a Reply

