Mushroom Risotto

Risotto… why you so delicious? So creamy, cheesy and rich….. yum… I could eat a bucket of this stuff.

This was my first attempt at making risotto and it’s not as difficult or intimidating as I imagined it to be. I don’t know… maybe its the word risotto that was intimidating to me. Anyways, I knew I wanted to use this recipe when I was ready to try this dish. With the wonderful reviews and over 1000 five out of five-star ratings, you could only wonder how awesome this dish could be? Its pretty awesome if you ask me. Delicious. Finger-lickin’ good. Think you get the picture.

I used a cheaper Pinot Grigio variety because we had some leftover from the week before. I believe they usually recommend to use a dry white wine.

The recipe has been scaled down to 4, instead of 6, because I wasn’t sure if my family would like it or not. (But they do, so I’ll have to make more next time!)

  • 4 cups chicken broth, divided
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil, divided
  • 11 ounces portobello mushrooms, thinly sliced (I used just 1 giant one)
  • 11 ounces white mushrooms, thinly sliced (used around 1 dozen)
  • 1/2 onion, diced
  • 1 clove of garlic, minced or pressed
  • 1 cup Arborio rice
  • 1/3 cup dry white wine
  • sea salt to taste
  • freshly ground black pepper to taste
  • 2 tablespoons finely chopped chives
  • 2 tablespoons and 2 teaspoons margarine
  • 3 tablespoons and 1-3/4 teaspoons grated Parmesan cheese
  • Optional: shrimp
1. Warm 2 tablespoons olive oil in a large saucepan over medium-high heat. Stir in the mushrooms, and cook until soft, about 3 minutes. Remove mushrooms and their liquid, and set aside.

2. Add 1 tablespoon olive oil to skillet, and stir in the shallots. Cook 1 minute. Add rice, stirring to coat with oil, about 2 minutes.

3. When the rice has taken on a pale, golden color, pour in wine, stirring constantly until the wine is fully absorbed. Add 1/2 cup broth to the rice, and stir until the broth is absorbed. Continue adding broth 1/2 cup at a time, stirring continuously, until the liquid is absorbed and the rice is al dente, about 20 – 25 minutes.

4. Remove from heat, and stir in mushrooms with their liquid, butter, chives, and parmesan. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

This dish is a little tedious and you have to keep a close eye on the risotto while it’s cooking, but it’s so worth it. I did add shrimp this time, but next time round, no shrimp. Just figured that the dish needed some protein in it, but truth be told, it doesn’t need anything else – Its perfect just the way it is! But having said that, more mushrooms couldn’t hurt either – was reluctant to add too many mushrooms because Mike/ Jer aren’t exactly mushroom-lovers.

Lesson for today: don’t be intimidated by risotto, it’s not as scary as it sounds!

And lastly, on a random note here’s a sneak peak at what we have been doing at school! My friend Tiffany is the sonography program blogger for BCIT and she’s been posting about what’s happened in our program so far. I especially like this recent post since it was unexpected, kind of crazy, pretty gross, but also really really cool… Curious? lol

**Warning: if you have a weak stomach, don’t look, you might regret it**

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Amanda says:

    This looks and sounds delish nom nom

    Like

    1. Janine says:

      Possible potluck dish for next time =]

      Like

      1. Amanda says:

        Was hoping you would feel the same way haha

        Like

  2. Tiffany says:

    Whaaaaaaaaa? I didn’t know you had a blog! The risotto looks fantastic btw! Bring some to school :)

    Like

    1. Janine says:

      Hahaha wow how did find me? Maybe cause I linked your page lol. Thanks! Yes, I’m overdue to bring treats to school hahah maybe after another wkend scan session

      Like

Leave a Reply

