Gingerbread Biscotti

Think I’ve already mentioned how much I love the smell of fresh baking gingerbread… it’s so addicting – sweet, spicy goodness … need to invest in a gingerbread candle or something to enjoy this smell all year round.

So yah, if you haven’t already noticed the giant/ bright red and green signage plus many roaming Santas, Christmas is in exactly 21 days – the countdown is on! Do you know what you’re giving others for Christmas?? If you don’t, you should probably start thinking about it now because Christmas is going to be here in no time! Trust me, you don’t want to be left scrambling for a gift with hours left to gift exchange… that’s me like every year – I have issues when it comes to gift decisions. As a result of Xmas-gift stress, year after year, I think I’ve come to the conclusion that baked gifts are the way to go. Think about it, they’re not only easier to put together, but there’s also way more options (not to mention a slimmer chance that the recipient will dislike it!).

Which leads me to this post – Gingerbread Biscottis. Good gifting idea yeh?

This was a pilot batch to determine whether this recipe was ‘gift-worthy’ – I scaled the recipe down to make ’32’ servings, which left me with just over a dozen full-sized biscottis.

  • 3 tablespoons and 1-3/4 teaspoons vegetable oil
  • 2/3 cup white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tablespoons and 2 teaspoons molasses
  • 1-1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2/3 cup whole wheat flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 tablespoon ground ginger
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg

1) Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C). Line a cookie sheet with parchment.

2) In a large bowl, mix together oil, sugar, eggs, and molasses. In another bowl, combine flours, baking powder, ginger, cinnamon, cloves, and nutmeg (I only had 1/3 C of whole wheat left, so I substituted 1/3 C all purpose). Mix dry ingredients into egg mixture to form a stiff dough. (Careful not to over work your dough, or else it might become tough)

3) Shape dough into a log and place onto cookie sheet. Pat down or roll to flatten the dough to 1/2 inch thickness (seems thin, but it will puff up)

4) Bake in preheated oven for about 20 minutes. Remove from oven, and set aside to cool.

5) When cool enough to touch (about 10 minutes), cut into 1/2 inch thick slices.

6) Place sliced biscotti on cookie sheet and bake an additional 5 to 7 minutes on each side, or until toasted and crispy.

7) Optional: Drizzle melted white chocolate onto the tops of cooled cookies

Overall, the blend of spices is just right for my taste (not super spicy). The slight addition of sweet white chocolate drizzle also adds a nice complementary flavor to the gingerbread and ‘dresses’ up a simple biscotti. For the drizzle, I melted ‘white chocolate candy melts’ and used a piping bag + #2 tip to create the thinner line.

I think these cookies can definitely make a nice small Xmas gift (with the right packaging, of course!). My only concern would be whether the white chocolate drizzle would end up melting and smearing on the other cookies. Hmm… guess we’ll have to see.


5 Comments Add yours

  1. kayjayaitch says:

    I love the idea of anything using ginger. But if you’re looking for ideas to make as Christmas gifts you may like to have a look through my blog at kayjayaitch.wordpress.com.
    All the cookery based material is traditionally British and comes from my Grandmothers cookery book/s that I inherited a few years ago.
    The oldest recipe I have found so far is dated 1904!

    Like

    1. Janine says:

      Thanks so much for stopping by. Yes, I am well behind on my blog-reading and will definitely take a look at yours for Xmas ideas!

      Like

  2. Amanda says:

    I was worried about the white chocolate smudging as well. You should test it out.

    Like

    1. Janine says:

      The white chocolate actually hardened really well. Don’t think it’ll smear/ melt if I package it.

      Like

  3. Jachito says:

    Yum! Looks good, is there any left?

    Like

Leave a Reply

