Javachip Ice cream

Hey! Sorry I’ve been m.i.a. for the last week and a bit, just wrapped up my first course for the summer yesterday evening and it feels awesome not to think about anything! Savoring these next few days because my next course starts on tuesday. Anyways, decided to start this weekend off by bringing out the good ol’ ice cream machine to make a batch of javachip ice cream!

Made the ice cream base yesterday night and let it chill overnight to allow the flavors to blend. If you’ve never made ice cream before, you should definitely give it a shot because its super simple; all ice cream bases are pretty much the same, the only difference is the flavor. Plus, most recipes usually consist of only 5 ingredients altogether!

This is a modified version of a coffee ice cream recipe that I found on popsugar.com… Yes, I came across this recipe while reading up on daily celeb gossip =]

Javachip Ice Cream

Ingredients

  • 2 cups coffee cream
  • 2 cups milk
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 tbsp instant coffee granules
  • 1 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 4 egg yolks
  • 3/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions

1. Combine the cream, milk, sugar, coffee, and cocoa in a medium, heavy saucepan. Bring to a gentle boil over medium heat. Remove from the heat.
2. Beat the egg yolks in a medium bowl. Whisk 1 cup of the hot cream into the egg yolks. Gradually add the egg mixture in a slow, steady stream, to the hot cream.

3. Cook over medium-low heat, stirring occasionally, until the mixture thickens enough to coat the back of a spoon, about 5 minutes.
4. Remove from heat and strain through a fine mesh strainer into a clean container.

5. Cool to room temperature before refrigerating. I went with an ice bath, since it was late and I didn’t want to wait the extra couple of hours.

6. Cover with plastic wrap, pressing down against the surface to keep a skin from forming. Chill in the refrigerator for 2 hours or overnight.

7. Remove from the refrigerator and pour into the bowl of an ice cream machine. Freeze according to the manufacturer’s instructions. This machine takes about 25 minutes to make a soft serve consistency ice cream.

Milk shake stage

8. About 5 minutes before the ice cream is done or when it looks like thick milk shake, add the chocolate chips. I ground the chips up in the magic bullet to make them a little smaller.

9. After the ice cream is made, transfer to an airtight container. Cover tightly and freeze until ready to serve.

This was actually a ‘trial’ batch of ice cream because this was the first time using coffee cream to make the base. Turned out pretty good too; still yields an ice cream that is creamy/ not too icy. Most ice cream recipes will call for heavy cream… never seen that up in Canada at least, so I was always using liquid whipping cream, which is about 33% mf I believe. Yeh… I know, that’s a ton of saturated fat. Decided to try coffee cream this time, which is about 18% mf … so I guess you could say that this is ‘reduced fat’ ice cream? Maybe next time I’ll try half and half and see how that goes.

Sooo… also attempted to make some waffle cones to go with the ice cream. Parents picked up this waffle cone maker down in the states a couple of weeks back. Told them we didn’t need anymore machines/ gadgets, but they said they had to get it b/c it was only $8…. how asian. Plus, they said they could return it, even if I used it… so I decided to try it out and I can tell you that it’s not even worth $8 because it doesn’t even make proper cones… instead, it burns the cones and yields this soft, flimsy cookie thing that doesn’t even hold a cone shape cause it’s so soft. Fail.

Made 2 cones with that machine and just couldn’t stand making anymore flimsy fail cone things. But since I still had a bowl full of batter, I decided to try again with the pizelle maker.

Cones anyone? So much better than that other piece of junk!

PS – Great season nucks, we still love you.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Jachito says:

    Yummmm  Taste sooo goood  

    Like

  2. Amanda says:

    Haha I’m amazed at how many machines your family has. So do you have to put your ice cream bowl in the freezer? I still haven’t used my machine and I really want to but I have no freezer space :(

    Like

    1. Janine says:

      Yeh I know… Some machines are junk though and just take up space. Yes, you have to put the ice cream bowl in the freezer for about 24 hrs. Yah, I remember you told me you got you ice cream maker a while ago! Rearrange/ eat your frozen food to make space!

      Like

Leave a Reply

