Chicken Pot Pie

I usually don’t cook at home (on a regular basis at least), since my parents usually take care of that. But, as you all know, last weekend was Mother’s Day, so I guess you could say it was a good occasion/ excuse my parents used to get me to cook something up for mom.

I decided to go with chicken pot pie simply because I haven’t made it in a while, everyone likes it, and we had most of the ingredients on hand. This recipe is pretty good, but honestly, it’s very time-consuming. If you yourself love pot pie or know someone who does, then I guess it would be worth spending a few extra hours in the kitchen…. I’ve made this dish probably 3 times in the past year and probably twice a year is enough for me. Plus, I’m not the biggest fan of pot pie anyway.

Since the filling is prepared separately, then distributed into dishes, and lastly topped off with a crust, prior to baking in the oven, you could imagine how long this process takes (plus all the dishes you’ll need to wash in the end). Honestly, I’m not trying to bash this recipe/ discourage anyone from making this, I’m only trying to prepare people by sharing what is involved.

I used another allrecipes.com recipe, which can be found here. The only modifications I made were: the addition of a few potatoes (cubed) to help naturally thicken the sauce and instead of frozen peas, I used frozen mixed vegetables. One thing that is actually really good about this dish is that you can make a large batch and have leftovers for days! (I doubled the recipe, so we had a lot left) Plus you can also prepare and refrigerate individual unbaked portions and just pop them in the oven whenever you want to eat it… It’s like ‘ready to go’ but it’ll be freshly baked chicken pot pie.

Lastly, these ‘cookies’ were made using the leftover pie crust dough and are actually pretty good alone or with the pot pie…. almost taste/ have the texture of puff pastry, but not quite.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Ooh I really like pot pie

    Like

    1. Janine says:

      Sorry, don’t have anymore left (fam ate it all), but I can make it the next time we have a potluck!

      Like

      1. OoH sounds like a plan. But a lotta work like you said.

        Like

Leave a Reply

