Cheeseeee!

A few weeks ago, Chris and I had a hot-pot dinner with a few of his friends and Amy K. was grilling me for the longest time about the stuff I usually bake! haha j/k! Anyways, cheese scones somehow came up so after that dinner, I was planning to make them sometime in the near future since I still had a giant 5lb bag of shredded Cheddar/ Monterey Jack cheese in my refrigerator. Yah.. I know that’s a lot of cheese, but you can’t expect any less from Costco… they only sell the supersized variety of everything.

I find that I’m usually somewhat reluctant to buy scones at bakeries/ stores, even though they are probably delicious…. I’ve had a bad experience with store-bought scones being super dry and tasting like cardboard… disgustingly inedible… Solution? Make your own! I’ve used this same recipe countless times and the scones always turn out very tender/ moist on the inside and flakey on the outside. I think it’s the sour cream that keeps them moist.

This recipe has been modified from allrecipes.com and the original one can be found here.

Cheese Scones

The original recipes says it makes 12 scones (probably giant ones), but I halved it and managed to make 16 medium-sized scones.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup white sugar ….  omitted this for cheese scones, since they should be savory
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon cream of tartar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt … omitted this as well… cheese has enough salt in it
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/2 egg …  Just used a whole egg and added a little more flour
  • 1/2 cup raisins (optional)….  Substituted this for about 1 cup of  shredded cheese (used a blend of cheddar/ monterey jack)  

Directions

  1. In a small bowl, blend the sour cream and baking soda, and set aside.
  2. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  3. In a large bowl, mix the flours, baking powder, and cream of tartar. Cut in the butter. Stir the sour cream mixture and egg into the flour mixture until just moistened. Mix in the cheese.
  4. Turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface, and knead briefly. Roll or pat dough into a 3/4 inch thick round. Cut into 12 wedges, and place them 2 inches apart on the prepared baking sheet.
  5. Bake 12 to 15 minutes in the preheated oven, until golden brown on the bottom.

After about 15 mins in the oven, they will still look kind of pale, but I’m pretty sure they are supposed to look like that because the bottoms will be golden. Plus, you don’t want to over-bake them, causing the scones to dry out… cardboard.

This recipe is very versatile as well. In the original recipe, other bakers have commented and shared how they’ve tweaked the flavor by adding different ingredients… one combo I think I’d want to try is lemon zest and poppy seeds….. or maybe just blueberries and lemon zest with a lemon glaze… yumm.

The only thing I’d change in this recipe for next time is to add more cheeseeeee… I tried a scone earlier, and the cheese flavor is very mild… I want more cheese flavor… Might try 1.5 cups next time. I’ve made cheese scones before and found the perfect cheese ratio… but never wrote it down, so once I find it again, I will update this recipe with the right amount.

PS – Amy K., I expect a comment from you now! lol

8 Comments Add yours

  1. JESS says:

    So uh.. where are my scones?

    Like

  2. JESS says:

    You better gimme some or I’m gunna be PISSED.

    Like

  3. Amy K. says:

    Yes!!!!! I made it onto your blog finally…and my name’s even bolded, unlike Chris’s. Hehe. Scones look good. Make sure you get some to Jess cuz she’ll get pissed. LOL

    Like

    1. Janine says:

      haha its okay, she’s always pissed when she doesn’t get food

      Like

  4. Grace says:

    these look awesome! please bring them for our next rendezvous with Amy K :)

    Like

    1. Janine says:

      lol will do next time

      Like

  5. amanda says:

    yum yum in my tum tum

    Like

Leave a Reply

