Earl Grey Tea Cookies

No, I didn’t drop off the face of the earth.. still here..  just haven’t had a break to update this thing till now. Just had my third exam yesterday, so I decided to take it easy today and made a batch of Earl Grey Tea Cookies. I probably would never have searched up these cookies if it weren’t for Jeremy, who mistakenly brought me back a box from France.

His teacher is a real foodie, so when they were at one of the specialty shops in France, she told him that this brand was famous for their tea. Long story short, they thought they were buying Earl Gray tea bags, but turned out to be Earl Grey flavored tea cookies.

I have to say that it was a good mistake on his part, because the cookies are delicious…. and I’d rather have French cookies than tea bags. lol So that is how I ended up searching up for an Earl Grey tea cookie recipe. I went with a Martha Stewart recipe because I just trust her recipes, even though there aren’t usually many reviews… It’s Martha after all. I did modify the original recipe a little.

Earl Grey Tea Cookies

Ingredients

Makes 8 dozen… but I only made a small batch just to try (divided everything by 3)

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour, plus more for dusting
  • 2 tablespoons finely ground Earl Grey tea leaves, (from about 8 bags)… only used 2 bags.. should have been 2.6 bags though
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 (8 ounce) sticks unsalted butter, softened…  used margarine instead
  • 1/2 cup confectioner’s sugar
  • 1 tablespoon finely grated orange zest … omitted this b/c the French Cookies didn’t have any orange in them

Directions

  1. Blend tea leaves in a blender till very fine, then add flour and salt and blend altogether. Set aside.
  2. Put margarine and sugar in the bowl of an electric mixer. Mix on medium speed until pale and fluffy, about 3 minutes. Reduce speed to low; slowly mix in flour mixture until just combined.
  3. Transfer dough onto a piece of saran wrap; shape into a log. Roll to 1 1/4 inches in diameter, pressing a ruler along edge of wrap at each turn to narrow log and force out air. Transfer into paper-towel tubes; freeze 1 hour. (I just put my dough log straight into the freezer w/o the paper towel tubes, but will probably try that next time)
  4. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cut logs into 1/4-inch-thick slices. Space 1 inch apart on parchment-lined baking sheets.
  5. Bake until edges turn golden, 13 to 15 minutes. Let cool on sheets on wire racks.

 

Looked like goat cheese slices or something before they baked.

The tops are a bit pale compared to the store-bought ones, because I didn’t want to bake them over 12 mins since the bottom and sides were already fairly golden. The cookies have a very light, delicate, and almost melt in your mouth texture, similar to that of whipped shortbread cookies. The only thing I’d change for next time is the flavour intensity of the tea; they have a weak to medium Earl Grey flavor, but that was probably because I used less tea than what the recipe called for.

I also really like how you can see the black tea speckles on each cookie. Will definitely have to make this recipe again though.

On another note, I also did an experiment last week and made ‘drunken gummies’. Had no idea you could do this, but my friend Farah mentioned that she tried it before and that they tasted really good. The gummies swell from sucking up all the liquid and just taste sweet with a hint of alcohol flavor. 

I googled how much alcohol to add, and most people just say to add enough to cover the gummies. Depending on how many gummies your making, it’ll take longer for them to suck up all the alcohol; most say to leave the gummies for 5 days and to stir once a day to prevent them from sticking.

The verdict: I really like the lychee flavored gummies… not so much the green apple. I think it’s because the Lychee flavored Soho itself is sweeter and tastes less like alcohol, whereas the Green Apple Smirnoff has a higher alcohol content and tastes like crap.

4 thoughts on “Earl Grey Tea Cookies

    • Yah, the tea flavor isn’t bad if you don’t mind Earl grey. C said it kind of tastes like milk tea even. Was thinking of trying maybe green tea next time.

      lol I’m making the gummies for our potluck =P

      Like

  1. Hmm I used to really like Early Grey tea now not so much but I would still try it.
    I wanna try lavender cookies they sound yummy. Ohhs green tea would be nice :)

    I cant wait for our potluck(s) but no one has given a date yet and I need to grocery shop and find a recipe.

    Like

Leave a Reply

