Rainy Day Casserole

This whole day has been a constant down pour of rain… and not just sprinkle rain, like heavy shower rain… such a downer… no wonder why they call it April showers. So glad I won’t have to truck out to school everyday soon.. last day of school for us is this Thursday, but exams officially start on Monday… boo. I also find it weird how my brothers just went back to school today, after their 2 weeks of spring break, and then 4 days after, my school ends… o well… SO glad they are back to school though… sick of seeing Mike come down the stairs at 3:30 in the afternoon and head to the kitchen to eat his breakfast… very unmotivating to know he pretty much slept over 12 hrs every night and did NOTHING during the day.

Anyhow, figured I’d squeeze in a post today, as I begin to study for upcoming exams. I decided to make a veggie casserole as a side for our dinner because we have a variety of vegetables lying around the house/ fridge, plus it’s very quick, easy and flexible.. as in you could add whatever you want into it! I believe this recipe is originally a Campbell’s recipe, however, I got lazy today and didn’t want to search it up, so I ended up just throwing in whatever vegetables I found in the fridge…. lol I love convenience..

Looks a lot like a spinach Quiche here…

Vegetable Casserole

Makes 1 Casserole (17 x 15 inch pan)

Ingredients

  • 4 Sweet potatoes, cubed
  • 1.5 C Frozen Peas, defrosted
  • 1 Onion, sautéed
  • 4 C Uncooked Spinach
  • 1 can Campbell’s Mushroom Soup + 1.5 can Milk
  • 3/4 C Shredded Cheese
  • Oil, salt/pepper, garlic powder
  • Optional: Any type of meat, diced (I used about 1/2 C of left over roast)

Directions

Season cubed sweet potatoes with salt, pepper, and garlic powder. Cook in a pan with approx 1-2 TBSPs oil until fork-tender and browned. Transfer into casserole dish. (Almost like making hash browns, but these were sweet)

Defrost peas in microwave, then add to casserole.

Sprinkle half the cheese on top of peas (I used a preshredded blend of cheddar and monterey jack cheese).

Sautee onion with 1 TBSP oil until translucent and tender. Add meat to onions if desired. Cook for about 1-2 mins until heated, then add uncooked spinach. Cover pan and cook on low for 1-2 mins or until spinach is wilted, add to casserole.

Mix condensed soup with 1.5 cans of milk, then pour over casserole. (I tried using 2 cans of soup + 2 cans of milk, but only added about 1.5 of the whole soup mixture, however, it turned out a little runny/too soupy)

Top with remaining cheese and bake at 400F for 25 mins or until bubbly and brown. (You could also refrigerate this casserole after topping with remaining cheese and bake at a later time)

Easy right? This is a good convenient dish if you want to prep something a couple of days in advance, then bake it the day of. You could also use regular potatoes and as I said before, almost any vegetables will do in this dish, very flexible. I’ve made this casserole once before with regular potatoes, but I find that I really like the flavor/ texture of the sweet potatoes more.

Lastly, I’m gonna guess that Jess is going to msg me or something in the near future, asking for some =] Righttttt? lol

Alright, study time!… but I probably will be back… once I start procrastinating

6 thoughts on “Rainy Day Casserole

Leave a Reply

