Mmmuffins

Sunday alreadyyyy? Ahhh… weekends pass by so fast….  So I had a GNO yesterday (girls night out, incase you didn’t catch that… ahha I had no idea what that meant either till yesterday!) and my two friends randomly mentioned that they check my blog everyday? =P ahhaha and I feel bad cause I don’t update this blog THAT frequently… sorry guys that you have to keep looking at my old entries lol… so… decided that I should do another post to keep you two interested =P

I’ve been wanting to make these muffins again just because they are so tasty and have some nutritional value to them… they are actually so good… tinge of spice/ sweetness…. Last time I made these, I discovered that I can actually finish a whole dozen of them by myself… yes… I know what you are prob thinking… oink? lol)… they are called Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins… my new favorite muffin recipe!… And no, I haven’t been saving a can of purred pumpkin since October! Decided I wanted to try this recipe about a month or two ago, so don’t worry, this pumpkin isn’t super old.. Unfortunately, Superstore only sells canned pumpkin in these honking huge cans… it’s a lot of pumpkin… real bang for your buck lol. Anyhow, I couldn’t use all that pumpkin in this recipe, so I split the can up into containers and froze the pumpkin for later use… convenient!

This recipe has been modified from allrecipes.com (yes… I love this site… esp b/c these recipes are rated/commented by regular people!)

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

It says this recipe makes 12 muffins, but I think they are 12 really small muffins… I managed to make 6 decent sized muffins with this recipe

  • 2/3 cup Splenda
  • 1/8 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 cup canned pumpkin (I used about 1 C)
  • 1/3 cup water (approx)
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips
  •  
    Directions

    1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C). Grease and flour muffin pan or use paper liners.
    2. Mix splenda, oil, eggs. Add pumpkin and water. In separate bowl mix together the baking flour, baking soda, baking powder, spices and salt.. Add wet mixture and stir in chocolate chips.
    3. Fill muffin cups 2/3 full with batter (I filled them almost up to the top of the liner to make 6 muffins). Bake in preheated oven for 20 to 25 minutes.

    I modified this recipe a little and decided to use splenda in place of sugar, and whole wheat flour, in place of some AP flour. The reason for splenda is b/c my mom is supposed to watch her sugar intake. As splenda is a synthetic sugar substitute, it isn’t metabolized the same way as sugar, and therefore, doesn’t have the same effect on the body. I’ve been trying different recipes using splenda (it says the measurements are equal to sugar… so 1C splenda = 1C sugar), but I’m pretty sure it’s still a little sweeter than sugar, so I tend to use a little less than what the recipe calls for… other than that, I find it works just as good as sugar. Incorporating whole wheat flour is just to add a little more nutritional value to these muffins, plus you can’t really taste the difference!

    The muffins rose a little weird this time (some big flat cracks)… probably b/c I baked these in my toaster over…. Yes… I was too lazy to take all the stuff out of my big oven to bake just 6 muffins.. not to mention the energy consumption… I guess it was the uneven heat distribution in the toaster oven that made them weirdly shaped… O well, still tastes good lol

    You might also notice that in this picture, there’s one “outcast” muffin that has no chocolate chips in it.. that’s a special one for mom lol. She can’t eat chocolate. I know right…. who can’t eat chocolate? She gets major migraines for some weird reason.. so anytime I bake and have the option of omitting the chocolate, I’ll usually make her a ‘special’ one w/o the chocolate lol “outcast”.

    I was playing around with my camera settings to see which one looked better… the one above is the ‘food’ setting… and I think this one is just the normal ‘anything’ setting… I think I like the food setting better… blue tones contrast the muffins better lol

    And just another random update from my brother in europe: I mentioned a couple posts back that Jer was going to london/ paris.. Well, he is in paris now, and has actually called a few times. Technology has seriously changed so much ever since I went to europe.. about 5 years ago… Back then, we paid for internet time on this one dinky computer in the lobby. Now, they have wifi in their rooms, plus with the new smart phones, it’s so much easier! Anyways, they have wifi in their paris hotel rooms, so he has been facetiming my dad and updating us on what they are doing/ the stuff he’s bought lol Funny story… yesterday, he facetimed dad but was looking for Mike b/c he found Mike a belt and wanted to make sure he liked it or else he could still return it. Dad asked him how much the belt was, and he said about 60 euros (equivalent to $80)… quoted from dad “WELLL… I guess we know who he LOVES the most… def not his parents/ sister, but his brother?” lol Brotherly lovee…  funny b/c a couple of years ago, they couldn’t stand e/o (like they wanted to rip e/o heads off), and now they are bff… Papa is proud of his two boys lol

    4 Comments Add yours

    1. JESS says:

      UMMM how come I didn’t get any muffins??? I laughed at the outcast muffin =D
      So I suggested that you put up all the pics of your baked goods. When’s that happening? I like pics. Of food.

      Like

      1. Janine says:

        Uhhhh cause they special muffins for special peoples j/k =P and cause I ate most of them already =P lol That ain’t happeningggg, fresh blogging = fresh pictures… no oldies =D lol Go look at Amanda’s food album on FB! lol Full of pix of delicious looking food =D Amanda should seriously start a food blog… cause she takes a lot of food pix… just sayin’ =P

        Like

    2. Ariela says:

      Mmmm, muffins, my favorite!

      Like

      1. Janine says:

        We need another potluck soon!

        Like

    Leave a Reply

    