My kind of breakfasttt

Breakfast is probably my favorite meal of the day… wakes me up, its simple, don’t have to think at all, and its quick. About a year ago, I began making my own bread and have been experimenting with different bread recipes ever since. After I started my bread craze, I decided that I was only going to eat bread that I made… and that’s what I’ve been doing ever since. I usually make 2 loaves, slice them up, and put them both in the freezer. Every morning, I take a slice or two out to have for breakfast…. See, my breakfast is simple… its ALWAYS bread and coffee.. no thinking required.

Since homemade bread lacks all the preservatives that commercial breads usually come with, it’ll only last a few days if left in the fridge/ out on the counter, so the freezer is good for keeping it fresh, in addition to the convenience factor. The recipe that I always come back to is called Flax and Sunflower Seed Bread… I’ve tried many different recipes, like honey oat, or whole wheat, but I found that I this bread always comes out really soft, and I like the nutty flavor/ crunchy texture from the flax and sunflower seeds. PLUS, flaxseed/ sunflower seeds are a good source of omega-3s’/vitamins/good source of healthy fat/protein. (Yes, I study nutrition)

This recipe has been modified from allrecipes.com:

Flax and Sunflower Seed Bread

Makes one 1.5 pound loaf

Ingredients

  • 1 1/3 cups warm water
  • 2 tablespoons margarine, softened
  • 3 tablespoons honey
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour + more if needed
  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt (usually omit this if I use salted sunflower seeds)
  • 1 teaspoon active dry yeast
  • 1/2 cup flax seeds
  • 1/2 cup sunflower seeds

Directions

  1. Mix warm water, honey, and yeast together. Let it proof for 10 minutes.
  2. Measure all dry ingredients and put in a large bowl. Add sunflower seeds, and stir everything around to evenly distribute.
  3. Make a well in the dry ingredients and add softened margarine into the well. Add wet ingredients and mix well with a fork, until you are able to knead the dough. Add more all-purpose flour if the dough is still too sticky (I usually add just under 1/2 cup more of flour).
  4. Knead till it’s not sticky/ the dough feels elastic (about 7-10 mins)
  5. Pour a little oil into the bowl, and coat the ball of dough. Cover with a damp towel, and let it rise for about an hour.
  6. Punch it down, divide the dough into your baking pans, cover again with a damp towel and let it rise for another 45 mins.
  7. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (usually do this just before the 45 mins is up), and bake for about 20-25 minutes. Keep an eye on the bread during the last 5-10 minutes, as it may begin to brown up before the time is up.

Dough rising before baking

Tadaa!

Yum… breakfast for tomorrow… My mom actually really likes this bread too… she says its much softer than any other bread I’ve made… Once, I noticed my bread supply was depleting much faster than usual (it was noticeable… a whole chunk disappeared)… so I called her out on it… “bread stealer”! Yup… culprit caught lol

On another random note, I also experienced authentic mexican food today… for the first time! Yes, exciting… I wasn’t even sure what an enchilada was… according to my friend Jess.. “its a wet tortilla or something”? lol Anyways, Jess took me to this small place down in yaletown called “Salsa and Agave”. They serve up some real tasty authentic mexican food, for a decent price too…. so good. I happened to have my camera with me, so decided I had to document…

I ordered this breaded beef dish… and yes… the pounded beef took up over half the plate lol… but it was so good.

Jess ordered this other beef platter thing, which was pretty good too… so many different things on that plate!

One thought on “My kind of breakfasttt

  1. I called it a wet burrito. I want some bread please!! We need to go to Mehicooo again. And next up is East is East (Indian) and La Bodega (Spanish)!!! Bring your camera gma…

    Like

Leave a Reply

